5 Stages Of Love – Unfortunately, Many Couples Separate At Stage 3

Which phase are you in?

Here is an article to help you in dealing with your relationship. After talking to a lot of people and a few personal experiences, I have finally found out the phases every relationship goes through. Those UPs and DOWNs we talk about, these are the ups and these are the downs!

1. Phase One: Attraction, Infatuation and Romance

Oh that honeymoon phase! It occurs when you are beginning to get to know each other. It might also be called the “fantasy phase” because your partner can seem perfect during this time. Colors start to seem a lot brighter!

You unconsciously focus more on the similarities than on the differences, which is natural, we all do it.
Any difference we see, we neglect it, thinking that you might be able to compromise on it easily. You are in love, after all, and you can’t imagine being apart from your lover.

But remember, this situation is not the reality and it will not stay like this always. People who are constantly changing partners are often trying to remain in this stage.

2. Phase Two: Reality Hits you

It’s that time when you start realizing that the things you thought were small and negligible are not all that.
This stage often will begin to creep in slowly during your relationship. The same problems and flaws you were ready to put up with start to seem unbearable. This is often that time when your arguments mostly involve this statement, I was like this when you met me!. It’s not that you are no longer in love, but you have just started to see the reality. Obviously, we are all human and are all flawed in our own ways, that’s what makes us different. Though we all know this and agree with it, we still fail to keep that in mind when this phase kicks in.

3. Phase Three: Disappointment

Instantly, this realization is followed by disappointment. A lot of times people mistake this phase as a WRONG DECISION. Yes! They start to feel that the person they chose as their partner is not fit for them.

Relationships mostly break during this phase, when you give up, thinking of the whole relationship as another big mistake. The problem here is that as a couple, you believe that arguments are bad but you are angry at each other anyway.  At this point in a relationship, you are in a state where you believe conflicts are unhealthy and that arguments are bad so you keep all that disappointment bottled up within you.

Without strong communication, trust and the ability to work as a team will not be there either. You need to have a lot of faith during this stage and need to develop good communication with your partner.

4. Phase Four: Stability

If a couple can navigate through stage three, they will find that stage four offers much rest and enjoyment.
I believe it’s necessary to open up in stage three, you form a very emotionally intimate relation with your partner during this stage. You finally start feeling the connection with them, and you trust that you can work through any future conflicts.  Can there be a feeling better than this?

5. Phase Five: Commitment

In this stage, you are now a team. You have chosen to be with your partner, with their flaws! You now know that no matter what, you will get through anything with your partner. Remember, true commitment comes once you have gone through hard and easy times together. There is no other way around a committed relationship. You’ve got to accept a rose with its thorns. Cherish your rose, not everyone is lucky enough to have one.

Talk to me

Have you experienced all of these phases? Let me know in the comments below. And as always, stay blessed and keep the love alive!